GoGoPance

vaya con pance

Chipped October 12, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 9:02 pm

Last night I went out for Mexican with my cousin Rachel after watching her volleyball game on the U of NM campus (Go Lobos!). Since I’m in Rome, I ordered a Negra Modello and was carded [happy dance].

Waiter: “New York, huh? 82nd Street?”

Pance: “Yep! Well, I live in Brooklyn now.”

Waiter [proud]: “I’m from Brooklyn Heights.”

Pance [used to it]: “Oh, ok. Yeah, I’m in Greenpoint.”

Turns out he once lived on Leonard Street, which I believe straddles Greenpoint and Williamsburg. I *know* this, but it still amazes me that NYC is strong enough to breathe across the entire nation. The connection was kinda cool. A few minutes later he delivered my Negra Modello and “complimentary chips, salsa and guacamole… since you’re from NYC.” Wouldya look at that ABQ hospitality. Though a disapproving frown was growing inside me. Cardinal sin #1 is a Mexican restaurant that actually charges extra for chips and salsa. And, for that matter, serves wine margaritas. Seems as if El Patio could use a tip or two from good ol’ NYC. Sigh, they can’t all be Rodeo Bar.

 

3 Responses to “Chipped”

  1. Trace Says:

    mmmmmm, Toxic Margaritas.

  2. Tracy Says:

    mmm, chips!!

  3. Suzanne Says:

    awww Rodeo! we need to pay it homage again soon


Leave a Reply

