GoGoPance

vaya con pance

the power of trees October 20, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 4:15 am

October 19, 2008: Superb day today touring the Grand Tetons. I started the morning early with several cups of coffee & a veggie scramble (that I naturally picked all the veggie out of) at Bubba’s BBQ. Last night’s Tortilla Flats guy recommended it for breakfast. I opted for a hike around Jenny Lake, up to Inspiration Point and about 1/4 of the way along Cascade Canyon Trail, a little of over 6 miles in total. I had no idea what to expect and let me tell you, the Tetons are freakin’ unreal. Pictures can in no way do the day justice. But I tried.

Everytime I go hiking, the smell alone (fresh air and trees, what a concept) always sends me reeling back to the Cascades in Virginia. I guess it’s because smell is our strongest memory connector and I spent many formative years hiking up to the Cascades. It’s a nice feeling to be strolling along, over halfway across the country away, but still somehow channeling the nature of home.

 

2 Responses to “the power of trees”

  1. mb Says:

    just awesome…

  2. adh Says:

    the third picture, btw, is so beautiful it’s disgusting.


Leave a Reply

