GoGoPance

vaya con pance

pop out at parties August 13, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 12:41 pm

The night before last I came to realize that I have become a Party Pooper. When did this happen!? Before age 30 I was the organizer, the loyal attender, the one who shut off the lights. I was fun and smiley and made rounds at parties. But lately my threshold for whirling social activity has shrunk to a “make an appearance” level. I much prefer to keep my hobnobbing to a 1:1 or 1:2-3 ceiling. Anything much above that is exhausting.

Now I anticipate, in utter disgust at myself, the act of leaving early. Is there a tactful way to tackle this? I sneak to gather my things, I strategize a shuffle toward the exit route, I try to avoid direct eye contact. “Pance! Are you LEAVING!?” Dammit. I imagine this will render me quite unpoopular soon.

 

One Response to “pop out at parties”

  1. 9nine9 Says:

    There are few things more agonizing than being at a torture-like, boring dinner party and waiting for the first person/people to leave so you can follow suit.


Leave a Reply

