GoGoPance

vaya con pance

see what’s become of me November 10, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 12:59 am

Last Saturday night I set my alarm to make it to the gym by 9AM Sunday morning. I thought, “Will this actually work since clocks go back an hour tonight?” Not truly caring, I fell asleep trusting the digital hourglass of my life.

I slept restlessly. I worried about getting trapped in the time change and starting the next day discombobulated and late. I rolled over and checked my phone at 2:30AM. I wondered if it was the NEW 2:30AM or the OLD 2:30AM. I got up to pee and peeked at the cable box to confirm. 2:33AM. Hm. Mr. Cell Phone and Mr. Cable Box could be working together in their time trickery. I climbed back in bed. I was wide awake.

The only way to confirm once and for all whether or not I was existing in an accurate timespace continuum was to check my analog watch. Let’s all take a moment to swish that reality around in our brains for a bit…

OK.

So I get up out of bed. Again. I find my watch and squint to see what numbers the big hand and the little hand were pointing to (turning on the light would mean I was really really awake). 3:40AM. Gasp! My cell phone and the cable box were in correct cahoots!

I go back to bed. Again. At least I knew what the real time was. But then I just started thinking about how everything of importance happens in the middle of the night. The Tooth Fairy gets inventory. Santa Claus gets cookies. The Easter Bunny… well… yeah. So maybe there’s a Daylight Savings Time Creature?

While I was sleeping did the DSTC come in via my fire escape, giggle to himself, eat some rice cakes and reprogram everything? Who changed the time? All I know is I woke up in the morning on time for life and ready to roll. I looked skyward out the window and silently thanked the imaginary time change creature. Bwok Bwok.

They do exist.


 

Leave a Reply

