GoGoPance

vaya con pance

made for walkin’ December 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 6:11 pm

Ask any Gotham dweller and they will probably tell you the same thing, when you leave your house in the morning you never truly know how your day will end. Therefore, you should always dress to allot for all the different could-happens. Liiiiike impromptu invitations to happy hour or dinner (fancy or otherwise), rain, snow, wind, yoga with a girlfriend or (parents, earmuffs) sleepovers with a boyfriend…

And the most important part of outfit selection is, hands-down, the shoes. Choosing ped attire is crucial. I repeat, croooshull.

Shoes can dress you up or down, they can make walking long blocks pleasurable or miserable, they can keep you dry or, well, you’ve suddenly got soggy dogs…

For example, on the books last Tuesday night was a simple, pre-planned happy hour. So I wore fun, versatile black boots. Done. What was unplanned, however, was how much I consumed at said happy hour (on someone else’s corporate card, score). Two Hot Mulled Wines, 1 Chimay, 1/2 nasty Espresso/Guinness mixture, 1 Blood Orange Martini, 1 Cappuccino and several bites of each dessert on the menu later (“We’ll try one of each!”), I was ill.

No way was I going to pour myself into a cab just to sloth all the way home. I needed to move. I needed a digestion stroll. So off I went, walking a brisk 1.5 miles to a nearby-ish subway station. After two lengthy transfers and several flights of stairs I was home. And, scene.

Shoes that can look professional at work and appropriate for a party, shoes that can perch patiently and perhaps somewhat judgmentally while I indulge and then comfortably support a Walk of Gluttony home all adds up to damn good shoes.

But see, when I set out that morning, I had no idea what to expect for my return trip. Had I opted for my Chucks my night might’ve ended with a Miller Light and some cottage cheese.

Just sayin’, when it comes to your day, shoes wisely.

 

Leave a Reply

