GoGoPance

vaya con pance

the big easy January 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 11:14 pm

I’m on the GoGo again this week, heading to a fellow “new” named city, New Orleans. Though song lyrics claim otherwise, I’m not traveling by train and the mileage from NYC is actually more like 1300 than 500. Details.

Unfortunately I’m going for work’s annual sales conference so it’s not for pleasure. Blah. However, for 5 days all my expenses will be covered. Score! I hope to fit in some Bourbon Street Debauchery with the colleagues I actually like before the week is up.

I’m reading a book right now that’s set in early 1920s NYC when, as explained, advertising started to sell lifestyles, not just products. Someone got a clue that if you put a glamorous dame smoking Cigarette A in an ad the perception that you could become said glamorous dame by smoking Cigarette A will result in higher revenue than if you just pictured the cigarette. Brilliance.

Now… the fact that my company isn’t doing so hot financially isn’t really a surprise to anyone. Shhhh, don’t tell. But, man, even if we are going down Titantic-style, how clever is it that they planned the sales conference in excessive New Orleans, selling the fact that our lifestyle is fine, just fine. Maybe we do know a little something about advertising after all.

Regardless, I’ve never been and I’m excited. More to come.

 

One Response to “the big easy”

  1. 9nine9 Says:

    Safe trip. Enjoy!


Leave a Reply

