GoGoPance

vaya con pance

homelessville March 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — gogopance @ 2:25 pm

I left the office around Noon today to pick up some birthday cards and grab a quick soup somewhere for lunch. As I approached Duane Reade (drugstore) for the card portion of my errands a homeless guy working his beat solicits my goodwill.

“Can you buy me something for lunch?”

I ignore him, as any well-trained New Yorker would, and turn to enter the store. Then he sends a late-breaking caveat my way…

“But NOT from Duane Reade!”

Ummmm…

OK, A… Mr. Homeless Guy, I never agreed to buy you anything for lunch in the first place and B… I guess no one ever relayed the “beggars can’t be choosers” rule-of-thumb to you.

I briefly considered buying him some OTC appetite suppressants instead, but I left the store via the back door and went down the side street to get my soup.

Perhaps if he started targeting hot pop stars dressed like food his efforts would yield more, well, soup.

 

Leave a Reply

